IAU Offices

The Office of Astronomy for Development (OAD) is one of the offices of the International Astronomical Union (IAU). Please see below for other contacts in the IAU.

  • For the General Public:
    Queries and questions from the public on IAU-related matters can be sent to the email below. We kindly ask you to use English only. Please check the FAQ first if there may an answer there. Note that the IAU, unfortunately, does not have the manpower to answer emails about specific astronomical topics. However, there are several websites that can give you detailed information if you post a question. You may also contact the International Outreach Coordinator at:  Sze-Leung Cheung, email: public@iau.org

 

  • Naming Stars:
    The IAU dissociates itself entirely from the commercial practice of “selling” fictitious star names or “real estate” on other planets or moons in the Solar System. You can find more information about this topic on the IAU website: http://www.iau.org/public/themes/buying_star_names/

 

  • Office for Astronomy Outreach (OAO),
    National Astronomical Observatory of Japan (NAOJ), Tokyo, 
    https://www.iau.org/public/
    outreach@iau.org

 

 

  • Office for Astronomy Education (OAE),
    upcoming

 

  • IAU100 anniversary secretariat
    https://www.iau-100.org/
    Jorge Rivero González, IAU100 Coordinator, rivero@strw.leidenuniv.nl

 

  • IAU Secretariat
    • For Administration, Finances or National Membership, please contact Maria Rosaria D’Antonio, Email: dantonio@iap.fr
    • For IAU Divisions, Commissions and Working Groups and for address changes or information concerning IAU Individual or Junior Members, please contact: Madeleine Smith-Spanier Email: smith@iap.fr
    • For IAU policy and general matters, cooperation with other Unions or Institutions, requests for endorsements or sponsorship, please contact the IAU General Secretary: Prof. Maria Teresa Lago Email: IAU_GS_2018@iap.fr
    • For planned, approved, or ongoing scientific meetings, please contact the IAU Assistant General Secretary: Prof. Ian E. Robson Email: IAU_AGS_2018@iap.fr
    • For Press inquiries, please contact the IAU Press Officer, Lars Lindberg Christensen Email: lars@eso.org